EVRMC is the designated teaching-training hospital in the region and is expected to provide training opportunities to various medical professions throughout the entire region.

Eight out of the sixteen clinical departments in EVRMC have accredited residency programs. The Departments of Internal Medicine and Obstetrics & Gynecology has an accreditation status of 3 years while the Department of Pediatrics is accredited at Level 1 for three years. Moreover, the Departments of Surgery, Emergency Medicine, Obstetrics & Gynecology, Family and Community Medicine, Anesthesia and Pathology are the only accredited residency programs in the Region. EVRMC is also the pilot area for the Medical Rotation Residency Strategy.

The hospital is also the base for skills training of student affiliates in the fields of Medicine, Nursing, Medical Technology, Pharmacy, Radiologic Technology, and Midwifery from schools all over the region. Students are exposed to the hospital environment to further their training and skills in their respective fields. Non-medical training programs are also available such as on-the-job training programs, internships, and summer clerkships.

As of November 21, 2017, EVRMC became an accredited Continuing Professional Development CPD) provider. Training offered by the hospital can be counted as CPD units for application for the renewal of the PRC licenses of various medical providers.

EVRMC aims to be at the forefront of research innovation throughout the entire region. As such, its various training programs are integrated with research opportunities. Resident physicians are required to submit a research paper as a pre-requisite for graduation. Student affiliates from various courses and other personnel are also highly encouraged. The hospital has an active Technical Review Committee and an accredited Institutional Ethical Review Board (IERB). In answer to the rising demand for research sites, the hospital is currently developing a fully equipped and functional research unit. EVRMC is also an active member of the Eastern Visayas Health Research and Development Consortium.

EVRMC frequently partners with various public and private sectors to implement programs that are aimed to promote healthcare. EVRMC recently established the Public Health Unit which handles projects that aim to bridge the gap between public health concerns and the hospital health system through coordinating with various local government units and public health programs.

One of the main services of the Public Health Department is the Service Delivery Network. It was created to ensure that all clients will have access to different levels of care through the establishment of a referral system where patients receive care across different health networks in a systematic way. Services are delivered by networks that are:

  1. fully functional
  2. compliant with clinical practice guidelines
  3. available 24/7 & even during disasters
  4. practicing gatekeeping
  5. located close to the people
  6. enhanced by telemedicine

EVRMC also provides disaster and emergency management services under the HEM Department. As a disaster-prone area, the region constantly experiences all kinds of disasters (natural, man-made, biological). HEM serves as the hospital’s emergency response team. The department also conducts capability building activities at the grassroots level or wherever needed. As an institutionalized department its framework includes:

  • Updated Disaster Risk Reduction and Management in Health Plan (DRRM-H)
  • Functional 24/7/365 Operation Center
  • Organized Emergency Medical Team
  • Commodities for preparedness and response operation

Brief History of EVRMC

  • 1916

    The hospital was first established as the Leyte Provincial Hospital on July 16, 1916. It started out with an authorized bed capacity of fourteen (14) beds.

  • 1925

    The hospital transferred to its current site along Magsaysay Boulevard,Tacloban City.

  • 1936

    President Manuel L. Quezon inaugurated the hospital’s newest building which allowed the hospital to expand to a forty (40) bed capacity hospital.

  • 1942

    Japanese forces occupied the Philippines during the second world war and claimed the hospital as one of their headquarters, forcing the hospital to evacuate to TB Pavilion.

  • 1972

    The hospital was renamed as Speaker Daniel Z. Romualdez Memorial Hospital by virtue of Republic Act No. 6527 which states that the Tacloban City Hospital, Leyte Provincial Hospital, and Speaker Daniel Z. Romualdez Memorial Hospital, are to be constituted into one general hospital with a combined bed capacity of two hundred fifty (250) beds.

  • 1986

    On November 12, 1986, just after the EDSA Revolution, Memorandum No. 48 was sent by the Office of the President which ordered the renaming of the hospital to Tacloban City Medical Center (TCMC) among other hospital name changes.

  • 1991

    The Local Government Code of 1991 was passed. It identified TCMC as one of the DOH-retained hospitals in the region and remained a national government agency.

  • 1992

    The hospital was given its current name of Eastern Visayas Regional Medical Center (EVRMC) on March 24, 1992 in accordance to Republic Act No. 7289.

  • 2009

    The Philippine Republic Act 9793 was passed allowing the hospital to expand into a five hundred (500) bed hospital.

  • 2013

    On November 8, 2013, the region was hit by Super Typhoon Yolanda (international name Haiyan) and caused widespread devastation. EVRMC was one of the few remaining hospitals in operation in spite of the damages.

  • 2016

    EVRMC celebrated its centennial anniversary.

  • 2017

    The hospital began the process of moving to its newest site in Barangays Cabalawan and Bagacay, Tacloban City.